Avoiding 6 million metric tons per year of greenhouse gas emissions through cogeneration

ExxonMobil is developing innovative ways to generate power more efficiently and with less environmental impact compared with purchasing electricity from a local utility.

Article

Avoiding 6 million metric tons per year of greenhouse gas emissions through cogeneration

Cogeneration technology captures heat generated from the production of electricity for use in production, refining and chemical processing operations. Due to its inherent energy efficiency, the use of cogeneration leads to reduced greenhouse gas emissions. Our cogeneration facilities alone enable the avoidance of approximately 6 million metric tons per year of greenhouse gas emissions.

We have interests in approximately 5,400 megawatts of cogeneration capacity in more than 100 installations around the world. This capacity is equivalent to the annual energy needed to power 2.5 million U.S. homes. Over the past decade, we have added more than 1,000 megawatts of cogeneration capacity and continue to develop additional investment opportunities.

For example, ExxonMobil began the construction of a new 84-megawatt cogeneration facility at our Singapore refinery’s Jurong site. When this facility is completed in 2017, ExxonMobil will have more than 440 megawatts of cogeneration capacity in Singapore, enabling our integrated refining and petrochemical complex to meet all its power needs.

Related content

Energy efficiency

ExxonMobil constantly strives to improve performance and streamline our processes in order to improve energy efficiency and reduce environmental impact.

Energy and environment Topic

Hydraulic fracturing

Hydraulic fracturing enables companies like ExxonMobil to access unconventional oil and natural gas resources located in shale and tight-rock formations.

Energy and environment Topic

Risk management and safety

Our commitment to high ethical standards, legal compliance, and integrity is reflected in our safety and environmental policies and practices worldwide.

Energy and environment Topic

تفادي انطلاق 6 ملايين طن متري سنويًا من انبعاثات الغازات الدفيئة بفضل التوليد المشترك للطاقة

تعمل شركة ExxonMobil على تطوير طرق مبتكرة لتوليد الطاقة أكثر كفاءةً وأقل تأثيرًا على البيئة مقارنةً بشراء الطاقة الكهربية من المرافق المحلية.

المقال

تفادي انطلاق 6 ملايين طن متري سنويًا من انبعاثات الغازات الدفيئة بفضل التوليد المشترك للطاقة
تعمل تقنية التوليد المشترك للطاقة على احتجاز الحرارة الناجمة عن إنتاج الطاقة الكهربية لاستخدامها في عمليات الإنتاج والتنقيح والمعالجة الكيميائية. بسبب كفاءة التوليد المشترك في الطاقة الكامنة، فإنه ينتج عن استخدامه خفض انبعاثات الغازات الدفيئة. كما تساعد منشآت التوليد المشترك لدينا وحدها في تفادي انطلاق حوالي 6 ملايين طن متري سنويًا من انبعاثات الغازات الدفيئة.

لدينا حصصًا تبلغ حوالي 5,400 ميجا وات من سعة التوليد المشترك للطاقة في أكثر من 100 منشأة على مستوى العالم. تعادل تلك السعة إجمالي الطاقة السنوية اللازمة لتزويد 2.5 مليون منزل بالطاقة في الولايات المتحدة. على مدار العِقد الماضي، أضفنا أكثر من 1,000 ميجا وات من قدرة التوليد المشترك وواصلنا تطوير المزيد من فرص الاستثمار.

مثالاً على ذلك، بدأت شركة إكسونموبيل في إنشاء منشأة للتوليد المشترك للطاقة بقدرة 84 ميجا وات في موقع جورونغ بسنغافورة. عند اكتمال المنشأة في عام 2017، سيكون لدى شركة إكسونموبيل أكثر من 440 ميجا وات من سعة التوليد المشترك للطاقة في سنغافورة، الأمر الذي يمكن مجموعتنا المتكاملة للتنقيح والمنتجات البتروكيماوية من توفير كافة احتياجاتها من الطاقة.

محتوى ذات صلة

الغاز الطبيعي في قطـر

الطاقة والبيئة موضوع

التوفير في استهلاك الطاقة

الطاقة والبيئة موضوع