Plans to expand the Golden Pass terminal could generate up to 45,000 jobs nationwide

A proposed project, the Golden Pass LNG terminal in Sabine Pass, Texas would allow for both import and export of natural gas while generating billions of dollars of economic growth.

Article

In this article

Plans to expand the Golden Pass terminal could generate up to 45,000 jobs nationwide

The Golden Pass LNG liquefied natural gas terminal in Sabine Pass, Texas is a joint venture between affiliates of Qatar Petroleum and ExxonMobil. It was built as one of the world’s largest LNG terminals with regasification capacity of two billion cubic feet per day. With the U.S. having moved from a shortage of natural gas to a surplus, plans are underway to expand the terminal to add LNG export capability. 

Golden Pass Products

The proposed project, Golden Pass Products, would allow Golden Pass the flexibility to both export and import natural gas in response to market conditions. Golden Pass Products is a joint venture between affiliates of Qatar Petroleum and ExxonMobil, and would have an estimated export capacity of 15.6 million tons of LNG per year. 

Golden Pass Products has received all U.S. federal authorizations, and the joint venture is preparing for a final investment decision on the project. 

Benefits to the local economy

Golden Pass Products would represent an estimated $10 billion investment in manufacturing on the U.S. Gulf Coast. The project would generate billions of dollars of economic growth and millions of dollar in annual taxes to local, state and federal governments.

The project would also generate tens of thousands of jobs across the life of the facility, including approximately 9,000 construction jobs over five years with peak employment reaching about 3,000 jobs. The project could also generate the equivalent of 45,000 direct and indirect jobs nationwide during the construction phase, which is expected to last several years. During operations, it could generate about 3,800 permanent direct and indirect jobs, including approximately 200 highly-skilled, permanent jobs at the facility.

The project would also generate tens of thousands of jobs across the life of the facility, including approximately 9,000 construction jobs over five years with peak employment reaching about 3,000 jobs.

Photo — Golden Pass under construction.

A good corporate citizen

Golden Pass places great value on its relationships, built on trust and respect, with the communities of Southeast Texas, and is an engaged, responsible neighbor.

Golden Pass meets regularly with its Community Advisory Panel — which includes representation from neighbors in Sabine Pass, the city of Port Arthur, the Sabine Pass Independent School District, public officials, state agencies and other local organizations — to inform them about Golden Pass and listen to any questions or concerns. In addition, Golden Pass funded a new, $1.5 million community center for local residents in Sabine Pass, Texas.

Safeguarding the local environment is also a top priority for Golden Pass LNG. We employ industry best practices and technology. Golden Pass LNG complies with all regulatory requirements to ensure a responsible, environmentally friendly terminal and pipeline.

As the project aimed at converting Golden Pass to an export terminal progresses, we continue to work with the community to help prepare the local workforce for the potential new jobs in construction and support services as well as those that would ultimately be needed to operate the terminal.

LNG terminal safety: our top priority

LNG terminals and ships are designed and constructed with safety as the main priority. Over the past 45 years, the LNG industry has safely transported and processed LNG around the world. Industry standards, codes, training, inspections and operating procedures as well as government regulations are in place for the safe design, construction and operation of LNG terminals and ships.

LNG terminals and ships are designed with multiple layers of protection. For example, LNG ships are designed with double hulls with two layers of steel and equipped with gas detectors and safety alarms. The Golden Pass LNG terminal utilizes two independent levels of containment, including an inner steel tank and a thick reinforced concrete outer shell. The terminal storage tanks are also surrounded by a berm to provide another layer of projection in the unlikely event of a spill. In addition, the FERC permitting process, which includes coordination with the U.S. Coast Guard, requires rigorous safety assessments of LNG terminals and ships.

Related content

Liquefied natural gas (LNG) operations

ExxonMobil has partnered with Qatar Petroleum to develop the North Field, the world’s largest non-associated natural gas field. Through the RasGas and Qatargas joint ventures, we have participated in 12 of the 14 LNG trains, 27 of the world’s LNG ships, three receiving terminals in Europe and the United States, and Qatar’s largest condensate refinery. Additionally, ExxonMobil is the only foreign participant in two domestic gas projects, Al Khaleej Gas and Barzan Gas.

Natural gas Article

Fueling the future: cleaner-burning liquefied natural gas demand forecasted to triple by 2040

ExxonMobil has operated in the liquefied natural gas marketplace for over 40 years. With our global partners, we continue to drive research and development to make liquefied natural gas available around the world.

Natural gas Article

A broad portfolio of global liquefied natural gas operations continues to grow

ExxonMobil has led the industry in liquefied natural gas (LNG) integration and technology development. As our ventures in Qatar and Papua New Guinea progress, we can meet growing demands more easily.

Natural gas Article

يمكن أن توفر الخطط لتوسيع مستودع Golden Pass ما يصل إلى 45,000 فرصة عمل في جميع أنحاء الدولة

سيتيح المشروع المقترح، مستودع الغاز الطبيعي المسال Golden Pass، في سابين باس في تكساس، استيراد الغاز الطبيعي وتصديره مع درّ مليارات الدولارات للنمو الاقتصادي

المقال

في هذا المقال

يمكن أن توفر الخطط لتوسيع مستودع Golden Pass ما يصل إلى 45,000 فرصة عمل في جميع أنحاء الدولة

إن مشروع مستودع الغاز الطبيعي المسال Golden Pass في سابين باس في تكساس، عبارة عن مشروع مشترك بين الشركات التابعة لشركة Qatar Petroleum وشركة ExxonMobil. تم بناء المستودع باعتباره أحد أكبر مستودعات الغاز الطبيعي المسال في العالم بسعة إعادة التحويل إلى صورة الغاز الطبيعي تقدر بملياري قدم مربعة كل يوم. نظرًا لانتقال الولايات المتحدة من نقص في الغاز الطبيعي إلى فائض فيه، فالخطط مستمرة لتوسيع المستودع بهدف إضافة قدرة تصدير الغاز الطبيعي المُسال. 

Golden Pass Products

سيتيح المشروع المقترح، Golden Pass Products، لـ Golden Pass مرونة تصدير الغاز الطبيعي واستيراده استجابة لظروف السوق. إن مشروع Golden Pass Products مشروع مشترك بين الشركات التابعة لشركة Qatar Petroleum وشركة ExxonMobil، ويُقدَّر بسعة تصدير تصل إلى 15.6 مليون طن من الغاز الطبيعي المسال كل عام. 

حصل مشروع Golden Pass Products على جميع الاعتمادات الفيدرالية الأمريكية ويستعد المشروع المشترك لقرار استثمار نهائي بخصوص المشروع. 

الفوائد العائدة على الاقتصاد المحلي

سيمثل مشروع Golden Pass Products استثمار بقيمة تقدر بنحو 10 مليارات دولار في التصنيع على ساحل الخليج الأمريكي. سيدر المشروع مليارات الدولارات للنمو الاقتصادي وملايين الدولارات في الضرائب السنوية للحكومات المحلية والفيدرالية وحكومات الولايات.

كما سيوفر المشروع عشرات الآلاف من الوظائف على مدار مرحلة إنشاء المنشأة، بما في ذلك ما يقرب من 9000 وظيفة إنشاء على مدار خمس سنواتٍ مع ذروة توظيف تصل إلى نحو 3000 وظيفة. وقد يوفر أيضًا المشروع ما يعادل 45 وظيفة مباشرة وغير مباشرة في جميع أنحاء الدولة خلال مرحلة الإنشاء المتوقع استمرارها عدة سنواتٍ. خلال العمليات، يمكن أن يوفر المشروع نحو 3800 وظيفة دائمة مباشرة وغير مباشرة، بما في ذلك 200 وظيفة دائمة لذوي المهارات العالية في المنشأة.

سيوفر المشروع أيضًا عشرات الآلاف من الوظائف على مدار مرحلة إنشاء المنشأة، بما في ذلك ما يقرب من 9000 وظيفة إنشاء على مدار خمس سنوات مع ذروة توظيف تصل إلى نحو 3000 وظيفة.
الصور — Golden Pass قيد الإنشاء.

مواطن صالح للشركة

تضع Golden Pass قيمة كبرى على علاقاتها المبنية على الثقة والاحترام مع مجتمعات جنوب شرق تكساس، وهي جار متعهد ومسؤول.

تجتمع Golden Pass بانتظام مع الفريق الاستشاري لمجتمعها - الذي يشمل تمثيلاً من الجيران في سابين باس ومدينة بورت آرثر ومقاطعة مدرسة مستقلة في سابين باس والمسؤولين العموميين ووكالات الولايات وغيرها من المؤسسات المحلية - لإخباره بشأن Golden Pass والاستماع لأي أسئلة أو مخاوف. علاوةً على ذلك، موَّلت Golden Pass مركزًا مجتمعيًّا جديدًا بقيمة 1.5 مليون دولار للسكان المحليين في سابين باس في تكساس.

كذلك على رأس أولويات الغاز الطبيعي المسال في Golden Pass حماية البيئة المحلية. نستخدم التكنولوجيا وأفضل الممارسات المتعلقة بالصناعة. يمتثل الغاز الطبيعي المسال في Golden Pass لجميع المتطلبات التنظيمية لضمان مستودع وخط أنابيب مسؤولين وصديقين للبيئة.

نظرًا لأن لتقدم المشروع الذي كان يهدف إلى تحويل Golden Pass إلى مستودع تصدير، فنحن نواصل عملنا مع المجتمع للمساعدة على إعداد العمالة المحلية للوظائف الجديدة المحتملة في خدمتي الإنشاء والدعم إضافة إلى الوظائف التي ستصبح لازمة في النهاية لتشغيل المستودع.

سلامة مستودع الغاز الطبيعي المسال هي أولوياتنا القصوى

تم تصميم وإنشاء سفن ومستودعات الغاز الطبيعي المسال على أن تصبح السلامة هي الأولويات القصوى. على مدار الـ 45 عامًا الماضية، فقد نقل القطاع الصناعي للغاز الطبيعي المسال وعالج بأمان الغاز الطبيعي المسال في جميع أنحاء العالم. يتم تطبيق معايير الصناعة والقواعد والتدريب وعمليات الفحص وإجراءات التشغيل واللوائح الحكومية بهدف التصميم والإنشاء والتشغيل الآمن لسفن ومستودعات الغاز الطبيعي المسال.

يتم تصميم سفن ومستودعات الغاز الطبيعي المسال بعدة مستويات من الحماية. فعلى سبيل المثال، يتم تصميم سفن الغاز الطبيعي المسال بهياكل مزدوجة من طبقتي الفولاذ وتزويدها بأجهزة الكشف عن الغاز وأجهزة الإنذار لأجل السلامة. يستخدم مستودع الغاز الطبيعي المسال في Golden Pass مستويين مستقلين من الاحتواء، بما في ذلك خزان به فولاذ من الداخل وهيكل خارجي سميك من الإسمنت المسلح. كما تُحاط خزانات التخزين في المستودع بحافة ناتئة لتوفير طبقة أخرى من النتوء في الحالة غير المحتملة لحدوث انسكاب. علاوةً على ذلك، تحتاج عملية أخذ تصريح من لجنة تنظيم الطاقة الفيدرالية، التي تشمل التنسيق مع خفر السواحل الأمريكي، إلى تقييمات صارمة ذات صلة بالسلامة لمستودعات وسفن الغاز الطبيعي المسال.

مقالات ذات صلة

نظم الإدارة، والمعايير، والضوابط

إدارة المخاطر

يطبق مشروع الغاز الطبيعي المسال في Golden Pass أيضًا إجراءات أمنية للمستودع والسفن حسبما تقضي وزارة النقل الأمريكية وخفر السواحل الأمريكي ووزارة الأمن الداخلي الأمريكية.

سيتم بناء مشروع التوسيع وتشغيله بالمعايير السامية نفسها مثل المنشآت القائمة.

محتوى ذو صلة

مجموعة كبيرة من عمليات إسالة الغاز الطبيعي تتابع مسيرة تطويرها

احتلت شركة إكسونموبيل مركز الصدارة على مستوى مجال تطوير وتقنيات وتكامل مجال إسالة الغاز الطبيعي (LNG). ومع ازدياد تطور إنجازاتنا في قطر وبابوا غينيا الجديدة، يمكننا تلبية الاحتياجات المتزايدة في العالم بكل سهولة.

الغاز الطبيعي المقال

عمليات الغاز الطبيعي المسال

دخلت إكسون موبيل في شراكة مع قطر للبترول لتطوير حقل الشمال، الذي يعد أكبر حقل للغاز غير المصاحب في العالم، وشاركت من خلال المشاريع المشتركة راس غاز وقطر غاز، في 12 من 14 مرحلة للغاز الطبيعي المسال، و 27 من أكبر ناقلات الغاز الطبيعي المسال في العالم، وثلاث محطات لاستقبال الغاز في أوروبا والولايات المتحدة، وأكبر مصفاة للمكثفات في قطر. إلى جانب ذلك؛ تعد إكسون موبيل الشركة الأجنبية الوحيدة المشاركة في مشروعين للغاز المنزلي، هما غاز الخليج و برزان للغاز.

الغاز الطبيعي المقال

الغاز الطبيعي المسال – وقود المستقبل

تزداد أهمية الغاز الطبيعي كمصدر للطاقة صديق للبيئة يمكنه تغذية النمو الاقتصادي في أجزاء كثيرة من العالم اليوم، وعلى مدى عقود في المستقبل.

الغاز الطبيعي المقال