A broad portfolio of global liquefied natural gas operations continues to grow

ExxonMobil has led the industry in liquefied natural gas (LNG) integration and technology development. As our ventures in Qatar and Papua New Guinea progress, we can meet growing demands more easily.

Article

In this article

A broad portfolio of global liquefied natural gas operations continues to grow

Global LNG capacity

This capacity has recently increased significantly with the startup in Qatar of the four largest producing trains in the world.

Each of these trains is 7.8 million tonnes per year in size. Deliveries of Q-Flex and Q-Max ships were completed in 2009 and more than doubled fleet capacity for the Qatar joint ventures. We have also added 2.8 billion cubic feet per day of LNG regasification capacity with the opening of the South Hook terminal in Wales and the Adriatic LNG terminal offshore Italy, increasing access to attractive European markets.

ExxonMobil’s broad portfolio, our involvement across the LNG value chain, and our global marketing footprint provide important flexibility, and enable us to maximize value for our LNG ventures. We have led the industry in integrating LNG activities from production and liquefaction, to shipping, regasification and sales, and we have significant alignment with our joint venture partner Qatar Petroleum across the LNG value chain. We have also developed and applied new technologies to construct the world’s largest LNG trains and ships, minimizing unit costs and maximizing the value of natural gas from Qatar’s North Field — the world’s largest nonassociated gas field.

We are progressing new LNG projects to help meet the world’s growing gas demand. In Asia Pacific, we and our joint-venture partners have sanctioned the Gorgon Jansz and PNG LNG projects, which will significantly increase our volumes into Asia. Additional LNG projects are being pursued in Australia and West Africa.

Photo — PNG LNG Project

Papua New Guinea LNG

ExxonMobil is the operator of the PNG LNG project (ExxonMobil interest, 33 percent) in Papua New Guinea. PNG LNG is considered among best-in-class for reliability and recently reached production equivalent of 8.3 million tonnes per year, a 20-percent increase over the facility’s original capacity. To date, the project has safely produced more than 19 million tonnes of LNG and loaded 262 cargoes for delivery to customers in Asia.

The Hides field underpins the PNG LNG project. Development of the Angore field, a future tie-in project, will bring additional resources online within the PNG LNG project. The successful Muruk 1 well, drilled in late 2016, targeted a prospect close to the Hides field that could enable further development.

In 2016, progress continued toward the award of a Petroleum Development License for the P’nyang field, which has the potential to provide long-term natural gas reserves to support future expansion.

ExxonMobil has continued to grow its position in PNG in with the award of more than 4.1 million offshore acres in 2016 with a 100 percent operating interest, and a further 1.2 million net acres in 2017 with a 40 percent operating interest.

Upon completion of the InterOil acquisition in early 2017, ExxonMobil gained a 36 percent interest in a block that contains the Elk-Antelope field. The acquisition also affords ExxonMobil an equity position in the proposed second LNG project in PNG, and therefore, the ability to capitalize on synergies with existing operations. In addition, the acquisition provides ExxonMobil a majority interest in six licenses that would add more than 3 million net exploration acres to ExxonMobil’s PNG position.

ExxonMobil continues to work with the Government of Papua New Guinea to construct a 50-megawatt power station near Port Moresby.

The success of our PNG LNG plant demonstrates the company’s commitment to operational excellence. As a result of debottlenecking and other reliability efforts, we recently reached production equivalent of 8.3 million tonnes per year, a 20 percent increase over the facility’s original design capacity.

An independent benchmarking study has shown that PNG LNG is considered among best-in-class for reliability.

Related content

Liquefied natural gas (LNG) operations

ExxonMobil has partnered with Qatar Petroleum to develop the North Field, the world’s largest non-associated natural gas field. Through the RasGas and Qatargas joint ventures, we have participated in 12 of the 14 LNG trains, 27 of the world’s LNG ships, three receiving terminals in Europe and the United States, and Qatar’s largest condensate refinery. Additionally, ExxonMobil is the only foreign participant in two domestic gas projects, Al Khaleej Gas and Barzan Gas.

Natural gas Article

Fueling the future: cleaner-burning liquefied natural gas demand forecasted to triple by 2040

ExxonMobil has operated in the liquefied natural gas marketplace for over 40 years. With our global partners, we continue to drive research and development to make liquefied natural gas available around the world.

Natural gas Article

Plans to expand the Golden Pass terminal could generate up to 45,000 jobs nationwide

A proposed project, the Golden Pass LNG terminal in Sabine Pass, Texas would allow for both import and export of natural gas while generating billions of dollars of economic growth.

Natural gas Article

مجموعة كبيرة من عمليات إسالة الغاز الطبيعي تتابع مسيرة تطويرها

احتلت شركة إكسونموبيل مركز الصدارة على مستوى مجال تطوير وتقنيات وتكامل مجال إسالة الغاز الطبيعي (LNG). ومع ازدياد تطور إنجازاتنا في قطر وبابوا غينيا الجديدة، يمكننا تلبية الاحتياجات المتزايدة في العالم بكل سهولة.

المقال

في هذا المقال

مجموعة كبيرة من عمليات إسالة الغاز الطبيعي تتابع مسيرة تطويرها

إمكانية إسالة الغاز الطبيعي على مستوى العالم

لقد زادت هذه الإمكانات بشكلٍ ملحوظ مؤخرًا مع إطلاق أكبر أربعة قطارات إنتاج على مستوى العالم في قطر.

تبلغ سعة النقل لكل قطار من هذه القطارات 7.8 أطنان سنويًا. اكتمل تسليم سفن Q-Flex وQ-Max في عام 2009 وما يزيد عن ضعف سعة الأسطول من أجل المشروعات المشتركة مع قطر. كما أضفنا أيضًا 2.8 قدم مكعب يوميًا من سعة إسالة الغاز الطبيعي من خلال فتح محطة ساوث هوك للغاز الطبيعي في ويلز ومحطة Adriatic للغاز الطبيعي المسال على سواحل إيطاليا، لزيادة إمكانية الوصول إلى الأسواق الأوروبية الرائجة.

إن المحفظة الاستثمارية الهائلة لشركة إكسونموبيل ومشاركتنا على مستوى سلسلة قيمة في مجال الغاز الطبيعي المسال وأثرنا البالغ الواضح في الأسواق العالمية، يمنحنا مرونةً في التعامل ذاته أهمية حيوية بالنسبة لنا، كما يمكننا من مضاعفة قيمة مشروعاتنا الاستثمارية في مجال الغاز الطبيعي المسال. لقد قمنا بدور الريادة في هذا المجال من خلال دمج أنشطة إسالة الغاز الطبيعي ابتداءً من الإنتاج والإسالة وصولاً إلى الشحن وإعادة التحويل لصورة الغاز الطبيعي وبيعه، كما أننا على اتفاقٍ بالغ مع شريكتنا في المشروعات التجارية وهي شركة قطر للبترول على مدار سلسلة القيمة لمشروعات إسالة الغاز الطبيعي. لقد قمنا أيضًا بتطويرات وطبقنا تقنيات جديدة لإنشاء أكبر سفن وقطارات لنقل الغاز الطبيعي المسال في العالم، بهدف تقليل تكاليف الوحدة ومضاعفة قيمة الغاز الطبيعي من الحقل الشمالي بقطر — الذي يعد أكبر حقل للغاز الحر على مستوى العالم.

نحن نعمل على إقامة مشروعات جديدة لإسالة الغاز الطبيعي للمساعدة في تلبية الاحتياجات المتزايدة للعالم. وعلى مستوى آسيا والمحيط الهادي، قمنا بالتعاون مع شركائنا في المشروعات الاستثمارية بإطلاق مشروعات Gorgon Jansz وPNG لإسالة الغاز الطبيعي، والتي ستسهم بشكلٍ بالغ في زيادة حصتنا في آسيا. كما نسعى لإنشاء المزيد من مشروعات إسالة الغاز الطبيعي في أستراليا وجنوب أفريقيا.

الصور— مشروع PNG لإسالة الغاز الطبيعي

Papua New Guinea LNG

تعد شركة إكسونموبيل مُشغل مشروع PNG لإسالة الغاز الطبيعي (تبلغ حصة فائدة شركة إكسونموبيل، تبلغ 33%) في بابوا غينيا الجديدة. يأتي مشروع PNG لإسالة الغاز الطبيعي على رأس قائمة أفضل المشروعات من حيث الموثوقية، وقد بلغ إنتاجه مؤخرًا 8.3 مليون طنًا سنويًا، والذي يزيد عن السعة الأساسية للشركة بمقدار 20%. حتى يومنا هذا، نجح المشروع في إنتاج أكثر من 19 مليون طنًا من الغاز الطبيعي السائل وتحميل 262 شاحنة لتوصيلها للمستهلكين في دول آسيا بأمان.

يعد حقل غاز Hides هو المصدر الرئيسي للغاز في مشروع PNG للغاز الطبيعي السائل. سيؤدي تطوير حقل Angore، مشروع مستقبلي تكميلي، إلى توفير المزيد من الموارد المرتبطة بمشروع PNG للغاز الطبيعي المسال. وقد كان بئر Muruk 1 الناجح، الذي تم حفره في أواخر عام 2016، مصمم لأهداف مماثلة لما يهدف إليه حقل Hides؛ والتي ستؤدي بدورها إلى تحقيق المزيد من التطورات.

في عام 2016، واصلت الشركة مسيرة التقدم حتى حصلت على منحة الترخيص للتطوير في مجال البترول (ترخيص التطوير في مجال البترول) في حقل P’nyang، والذي من المتوقع أن يكون مستودعًا طويل المدى للغاز الطبيعي لدعم التوسعات المستقبلية.

واصلت شركة إكسونموبيل مسيرتها في التوسع في مشروع PNG بفضل حصولها على المنحة لأكثر من 4.1 مليون أكرًا ساحليًا في عام 2016 بنسبة فائدة تشغيل قدرها 100%، بالإضافة إلى التوسع على مساحة 1.2 مليون أكرًا صافيًا أخرى في 2017 بفائدة تشغيل قدرها 40 بالمئة.

وبمجرد اكتمال الاستحواذ على InterOil في أوائل 2017، حققت شركة ExxonMobil فائدةً قيمتها 36 بالمئة في المنطقة الموجود بها حقل Elk-Antelope. كما أتاح الاستحواذ على هذا أيضًا لشركة إكسونموبيل الظهور بموقف جيد أمام مشروع PNG الثاني المزمع لإسالة الغاز الطبيعي، ومن ثَم أعطاها القدرة على مضاعفة الدعم في العمليات القائمة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، أتاح ذلك الاستحواذ لشركة إكسونموبيل الفائدة العظمى في ستة تراخيص من شأنها إضافة مساحة تنقيب تمتد لمسافة 3 ملايين أفدنة صافيةً إلى موضع مشروع PNG لشركة إكسونموبيل.

تواصل شركة إكسونموبيل العمل مع حكومة بابوا غينيا الجديدة لإنشاء محطة طاقة بقدرة 50 ميجا وات بالقرب من ميناء بورت مورسباي.

يدل نجاح محطة PNG LNG على التزام الشركة بالارتقاء إلى مستوى الاحترافية في التشغيل. ونتيجةً للجهود المبذولة للخروج من عنق الزجاجة فيما يتعلق بتوفير المعدات والأجهزة المثلى وغيرها من الجهود المتعلقة بالموثوقية، بلغ إنتاجنا مؤخرًا 8.3 مليون طن سنويًا، والذي يزيد عن سعة التصميم الأساسي للشركة بمقدار 20 بالمئة.

وقد أوضحت دراسة هامشية مستقلة أن مشروع PNG LNG يعد أفضل دليل على موثوقية الشركة.

محتوى ذو صلة

يمكن أن توفر الخطط لتوسيع مستودع Golden Pass ما يصل إلى 45,000 فرصة عمل في جميع أنحاء الدولة

سيتيح المشروع المقترح، مستودع الغاز الطبيعي المسال Golden Pass، في سابين باس في تكساس، استيراد الغاز الطبيعي وتصديره مع درّ مليارات الدولارات للنمو الاقتصادي

الغاز الطبيعي المقال

عمليات الغاز الطبيعي المسال

دخلت إكسون موبيل في شراكة مع قطر للبترول لتطوير حقل الشمال، الذي يعد أكبر حقل للغاز غير المصاحب في العالم، وشاركت من خلال المشاريع المشتركة راس غاز وقطر غاز، في 12 من 14 مرحلة للغاز الطبيعي المسال، و 27 من أكبر ناقلات الغاز الطبيعي المسال في العالم، وثلاث محطات لاستقبال الغاز في أوروبا والولايات المتحدة، وأكبر مصفاة للمكثفات في قطر. إلى جانب ذلك؛ تعد إكسون موبيل الشركة الأجنبية الوحيدة المشاركة في مشروعين للغاز المنزلي، هما غاز الخليج و برزان للغاز.

الغاز الطبيعي المقال

الغاز الطبيعي المسال – وقود المستقبل

تزداد أهمية الغاز الطبيعي كمصدر للطاقة صديق للبيئة يمكنه تغذية النمو الاقتصادي في أجزاء كثيرة من العالم اليوم، وعلى مدى عقود في المستقبل.

الغاز الطبيعي المقال