Skip to main content
Search

Water management

Water and energy are interrelated, and both are critical for society, economic development and the environment. ExxonMobil manages water resources with care, using the same systems, processes and policies that govern our overall approach to environmental management.

In 2014, we published four key commitments in a framework for water management that focus on preventing adverse impacts to water resources while carefully managing the water we do use.

We are committed to minimizing the impacts of our water withdrawals, consumption and discharges. In 2014, the net freshwater consumption at our operations was 270 million cubic meters, representing a continued decline since 2011. We have reduced our freshwater consumption by 15 percent since 2007, in part due to local water management strategies. ExxonMobil’s total water consumption includes use by Downstream refineries and Chemical plants, Upstream oil and gas production, and XTO Energy for onshore shale development in the United States. The vast majority of our water consumption occurs in Downstream refineries and Chemical plants, with XTO Energy accounting for only approximately 4 percent of the total.

Global freshwater consumption

We recognize some of our operations can use significant amounts of water, and we engage with stakeholders regarding their concerns about the use and protection of local water resources. We consider local water requirements and alternatives when sourcing water for our activities, including identifying and managing the risks related to water availability and quality. Of our major operating sites, approximately 30 percent are located in areas identified with the potential for water stress or scarcity. We develop and implement local water management strategies, including the use of freshwater alternatives such as recycled municipal and industrial wastewater, seasonal water management and rainwater harvesting.

Local water management efforts at key sites have contributed to the gradual decline in our water consumption since 2011. For example, the wastewater treatment facility at our Singapore chemical plant uses state-of-the-art membrane bioreactor (MBR) technology to treat wastewater, enabling it to be reused as cooling water. This reduces the overall amount of freshwater used in the plant by 3 percent, and the remaining treated wastewater to be discharged is well within the specifications set by the Singapore government. Since reuse of the MBR-treated water started in May 2014, on average, 30 to 40 percent of treated water is reused as cooling water, and further increases are planned.

We use alternative water sources where appropriate and seek opportunities to reduce, reuse and recycle water. We assess actual costs, quality and availability, as well as potential trade-offs, such as varied operational efficiencies, increased energy use or the consequences of producing more concentrated waste streams.

Another example, from the Upstream operations, shows our continual efforts to use research and operational analysis to improve capabilities and performance. Imperial, an ExxonMobil affiliate in Canada, committed to freshwater reduction projects at its Cold Lake operations as part of a water license renewal in 2011. By 2014, the projects were completed and successfully reduced freshwater consumption by 30 percent compared with the 2006-2008 average. Imperial is also a member of Canada’s Oil Sands Innovation Alliance (COSIA), an industry group focused on improvements in environmental performance in Canada’s oil sands through collaborative action and innovation. One key focus area for COSIA is to reduce freshwater intensity for in situ oil sands operations, which will require COSIA members to improve water use efficiency and recycle rates within their operations.

Close

تخطى للمحتوى الأساسي
بحث

إدارة المياه

المياه والطاقة أمران مترابطان وكل منهما حيوي للتنمية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والبيئة. تدير شركة إكسون موبيل موارد المياه بعناية باستخدام نفس النظم والعمليات والسياسات التي تحكم نهجنا الشامل للإدارة البيئية.

في عام 2014، نشرنا أربعة التزامات رئيسية في إطار عمل لإدارة المياه والتي تركز على منع الآثار السلبية لموارد المياه أثناء إدارة المياه- التي نستخدمها- بعناية.

نحن ملتزمون بالحد من آثار سحبنا للمياه واستهلاكها وتصريفها. في عام 2014، كان صافي استهلاك المياه العذبة في العمليات 270 مليون مترٍ مكعبٍ وهو ما يعد انخفاضًا مستمرًا منذ عام 2011.

لقد خفَّضنا استهلاكنا للمياه العذبة بنسبة 15 بالمائة منذ عام 2007 جزئيًا بسبب إستراتيجيات إدارة المياه المحلية. يشتمل الاستهلاك الكلي للمياه بشركة إكسون موبيل على الاستخدام عن طريق معامل تكرير النفط والمحطات الكيميائية والتنقيب عن النفط وإنتاج الغاز والطاقة بشركة XTO لتطوير الصخر الزيتي البري بالولايات المتحدة. تتم الغالبية العظمى من استهلاك المياه في معامل تكرير النفط والمحطات الكيميائية، وتمثل النسبة التي تستهلكها XTO للطاقة ما يقرب من 4 بالمائة فقط من الإجمالي.

إننا ندرك أن بعض عملياتنا ربما تستخدم كميات كبيرة من المياه ونشارك الجهات المعنية قلقهم حول استخدام موارد المياه المحلية وحمايتها. ونراعي المتطلبات المائية المحلية والبدائل عند تحديد مصادر المياه التي نستخدمها لأنشطتنا بما في ذلك تحديد المخاطر المرتبطة بوفرة المياه وجودتها وإدارة تلك المخاطر. يقع حوالي 30 بالمائة من مواقع التشغيل الرئيسية الخاصة بنا في المناطق المحددة والمعروفة باحتمالية الإجهاد المائي أو الندرة. ونعمل على تطوير إستراتيجيات الإدارة المائية المحلية وتنفيذ هذه الإستراتيجيات بما فيها استخدام بدائل المياه العذبة مثل إعادة تدوير مياه الصرف الصحي ومياه الصرف الصناعي وإدارة المياه الموسمية وتجميع مياه الأمطار.

وساهمت جهود الإدارة المحلية للمياه بالمواقع الرئيسية في الانخفاض التدريجي لاستهلاك المياه منذ عام 2011. على سبيل المثال، يستخدم مرفق معالجة المياه المستعملة بمحطتنا الكيميائية بسنغافورة تقنية مفاعلات الأغشية الحيوية (MBR) الجديدة لمعالجة المياه المستعملة وتمكين إعادة استخدامها كمياه تبريد. وهذا يقلل من إجمالي كمية المياه العذبة المستخدمة في المحطة بنسبة 3 بالمائة ومياه الصرف التي تمت معالجتها ليتم تصريفها في إطار المواصفات التي حدَّدتها حكومة سنغافورة. يتم إعادة استخدام ما بين 30 إلى 40 بالمائة من المياه المُعالَجة كمياه تبريد منذ بدء إعادة استخدام تقنية مفاعلات الأغشية الحيوية (MBR) الجديدة في مايو من عام 2014، ومن المتوقع أن تزيد هذه النسبة فيما بعد.

نستخدم مصادر بديلة للمياه متى لزم الأمر ونسعى لإتاحة الفرص للحد من استهلاك المياه وإعادة استخدامها وتدويرها. ونعمل على تقييم التكاليف الفعلية والنوعية والوفرة فضلاً عن المقايضات المحتملة، مثل الكفاءات التشغيلية المتنوعة أو زيادة استخدام الطاقة أو النتائج المترتبة على إنتاج المزيد من مجاري النفايات السائلة الأكثر تركيزًا.

يوضِّح مثال آخر، من عمليات التنقيب، جهودنا المتواصلة لاستخدام الأبحاث والتحليل التشغيلي في تحسين القدرات والأداء. التزمت شركة Imperial، إحدى الشركات التابعة لشركة إكسون موبيل بكندا، بمشروعات الحد من استهلاك المياه العذبة في عملياتها بالبحيرة الباردة كجزء من تجديد ترخيص المياه في عام 2011. وبحلول عام 2014، تم إنجاز المشروعات وخفض استهلاك المياه العذبة بنجاح بنسبة 30 بالمائة مقارنة بمتوسط الاستهلاك خلال الفترة من 2006 إلى 2008. كما أن شركة Imperial هي عضو باتحاد ابتكار الرمال النفطية الكندية (COSIA) باعتبارها مجموعة صناعية ركزت على إدخال التحسينات على الأداء البيئي في الرمال النفطية بكندا من خلال العمل التعاوني والابتكار. يتمثل مجال التركيز الرئيسي لاتحاد ابتكار الرمال النفطية الكندية (COSIA) في الحد من كمية المياه العذبة المستخدمة في عمليات الرمال النفطية في الموقع والتي ستُلزِم أعضاء اتحاد ابتكار الرمال النفطية الكندية (COSIA) بتحسين كفاءة استخدام المياه ومعدلات التدوير ضمن عملياتهم.

إغلاق