Skip to main content
Search

Air emissions

We continue to seek opportunities to reduce the environmental impacts from our operations and our products.

Our combined emissions of volatile organic compounds (VOCs), sulfur dioxide (SO2) and nitrogen oxides (NOx) have decreased more than 40 percent over the past 10 years across all of our operations. Our Baytown (Texas) refining and petrochemical complex has also achieved near double-digit improvements in energy efficiency and air quality during the past decade. Despite its size and complexity, the Baytown Refinery now uses energy more efficiently than 90 percent of all other U.S. refineries. Over the past decade, energy efficiency across the Baytown complex has improved by 10 percent, and NOx and VOC emissions have been reduced by 46 percent and 40 percent, respectively. During this same period, air-related incident performance has improved by 64 percent.

Air emissions

  • Matt Crocker

    Baytown Refinery manager
    “As a community partner in Baytown for 95 years, we are proud of our accomplishments. We remain committed to maintaining operational excellence and pioneering new ways to reduce emissions and improve air quality. Our mission is clear: Protect Tomorrow. Today.

In 2014, we completed our clean fuels project at our refinery in Saudi Arabia, a joint venture of ExxonMobil and Saudi Aramco. This project’s desulfurization facilities are designed to cut sulfur levels in gasoline and diesel by more than 98 percent. The ultra-low sulfur fuels produced as a result of this investment will allow for reduced emissions when used in modern engines.

Photo — Workers at our clean fuels expansion project in Saudi Arabia.

Close

تخطى للمحتوى الأساسي
بحث

الانبعاثات الهوائية

نستمر في السعي وراء الفرص للتقليل من التأثيرات البيئية الناتجة عن عملياتنا ومنتجاتنا.

انخفضت الانبعاثات المدمجة للمركبات العضوية المتطايرة (VOC) وثاني أكسيد الكبريت (SO2) وأكسيد النيتروجين (NOx) أكثر من 40 في المئة خلال السنوات العشر الماضية بجميع عملياتنا. حققت أيضًا مجموعة التكرير والبتروكيماويات في بايتاون (تكساس) تحسينات شبه مضاعفة في مجال كفاءة الطاقة وجودة الهواء أثناء العقد الماضي. وعلى الرغم من حجمها وتعقيدها، تستخدم محطة تكرير بايتاون الآن الطاقة بشكل أكثر فاعلية بنسبة 90% من كل معامل التكرير الأخرى الموجودة في الولايات المتحدة. وعلى مدار العقود الماضية، تحسنت كفاءة الطاقة في مجموعة بايتاون بوجه عام بمقدار 10%، وقلت انبعاثات أكسيد النيتروجين والمركبات العضوية المتطايرة بنسبة 46 في المئة و40% على التوالي. أثناء هذه الفترة نفسها، تحسن الأداء العرضي المتعلق بالهواء بنسبة 64%.

مات كروكر

مدير مستودعات تكرير بايتاون
"بصفتنا، في بايتاون، شريكًا مجتمعيًا لنحو 95 عامًا، فنحن فخورون بإنجازاتنا. لا نزال ملتزمين بالمحافظة على التميز التشغيلي وابتكار طرق جديدة لتقليل الانبعاثات وتحسين جودة الهواء. مهمتنا واضحة: حماية الغد والحاضر."

في عام 2014، أكملنا مشروع الوقود النظيف في معمل التكرير الخاص بنا في المملكة العربية السعودية، وكان مشروعًا مشتركًا بين إكسون موبيل وأرامكو السعودية. تم تصميم مرافق إزالة الكبريت بهذا المشروع لخفض مستويات الكبريت في البنزين والديزل بأكثر من 98 بالمئة. سيسمح الوقود بمستوى الكبريت المنخفض للغاية المُنتج تطبيقًا لهذا الاستثمار بالانبعاثات المنخفضة عند الاستخدام في المحركات الحديثة.

الصور — العاملون في مشروع تطوير الوقود النظيف بالمملكة العربية السعودية.

إغلاق