Skip to main content
Search

Key terms and definitions

Many definitions, terminology and units have come into use in the field of water management over time. ExxonMobil uses the following definitions:

For freshwater withdrawal and consumption, we follow the IPIECA-API-OGP “Oil and Gas Industry Guidance on Voluntary Sustainability Reporting,” 2010 edition. Withdrawal refers to the volume of fresh water removed from all sources for use by a facility or project. Consumption is the difference between fresh water withdrawn and fresh water returned by a facility or project. Water evaporated; transpired; incorporated into products, crops or waste; consumed by humans or livestock; or otherwise removed is considered consumed. Water that is lost during transport or that becomes so polluted it can’t be further used by others is also considered consumed.

Water use is a general, colloquial meaning referring to the removal of water from its natural location or the changing of its qualities as a result of human activity. We prefer the terms freshwater withdrawal and consumption when technical clarity is required. (Reuse and recycle are also defined in IPIECA 2010.)

Total dissolved solids
Chart — Total dissolved solids

The definition of fresh water varies in accordance with local statutes and regulations. For reporting purposes, IPIECA 2010 defines it as water with a total dissolved solids (TDS) concentration of less than 2000 milligrams per liter.

A variety of indices define water shortage, scarcity and stress1. One of the most widely used is the Falkenmark indicator, which describes the “stress state” in terms of the total annual runoff available for human use per capita. An area is said to experience water stress when this level drops below 1,700 cubic meters per person per year, or scarcity when the level drops below 1,000 cubic meters per person per year.

Another index from the International Water Management Institute (IWMI) distinguishes between physical water scarcity (insufficient water to meet human and environmental needs) and economic water scarcity (adequate water is present, but substandard infrastructure or poor management prevents its delivery). Both the Falkenmark and IWMI indices are used in the IPIECA Global Water Tool for Oil and Gas. Note that these and other water stress indices are based on conventions, definitions and data sets that are still evolving, and provide only a global approximation to actual situations in a given locality.

We follow the conventions of the ExxonMobil “Outlook for Energy” in classifying the oil and gas industry as an industry separate from electrical power generation. While they are sometimes classified together as “the energy industry,” power generation and oil and gas have very different uses for water in their operations.

Close

تخطى للمحتوى الأساسي
بحث

المصطلحات والتعاريف الرئيسية

بدأت العديد من التعريفات والمصطلحات والوحدات تدخل حيز الاستخدام في مجال إدارة المياه مع مرور الوقت. وتستخدم إكسون موبيل التعاريف التالية: 

بالنسبة لسحب واستهلاك المياه العذبة، نستخدم إصدار العام 2010 من "إرشادات صناعة النفط والغاز شأن تقارير الاستدامة الطوعية" الصادر عن الجمعية الدولية للحفاظ على البيئة في صناعة النفط IPIECA-API-OGP . يشير السحب إلى حجم المياه العذبة التي يتم نقلها من جميع المصادر للاستخدام من قبل منشأة أو مشروع. أما الاستهلاك، فهو يمثّل الفرق بين المياه العذبة المسحوبة والمياه العذبة التي تمّ إرجاعها من قبل المنشأة أو المشروع. وتشمل المياه المستهلَكة المياه المتبخرة والمرتشحة وتلك التي يجي إدخالها في المنتجات أو المحاصيل أو الصرف الصحي، والتي يستهلكها البشر أو الحيوانات، أو أي مياه مُستَهلَكة بخلاف ذلك. كما تُعد المياه التي تُفقَد أثناء النقل أو التي تصبح ملوثة لدرجة عدم صلاحيتها للاستخدام مجدّداً من قبل الآخرين مساهاً مستهلَكةً أيضاً.

يحمل استخدام المياه معنىً عامّاً يشير إلى نقل المياه من موقعها الطبيعي أو تغيير صفاته نتيجة النشاط البشري. ونفضّل استخدام تعابير سحب واستهلاك المياه عند الحاجة إلى وضوحٍ تقني. (إعادة الاستخدام وإعادة التدوير معرّفتان أيضاً في IPIECA 2010.)

Total dissolved solids
المخططات — Total dissolved solids

الرسم البياني - مجموع المواد الصلبة المنحلّة 

يختلف تعريف المياه العذبة وفقاً للقوانين واللوائح المحلية. يعرّف معيار IPIECA 2010 المياه العذبة لأغراض التقارير بأنها تمثّل المياه ذات تركيز مجموع المواد الصلبة المنحلّة (TDS) الأقل من 2000 مليغرام للّتر الواحد. 

وثمّةَ مجموعة متنوعة من المؤشرات التي تعرّف  نقص المياه وندرتها وإجهادها. و إجهاد1. ويُعد مؤشّر فالكنمارك واحداً من أكثر هذه المؤشرات استخداماً، وهو يصف "حالة الإجهاد" من حيث إجمالي الجريان السطحي السنوي المتاح للاستخدام البشري للفرد الواحد. ويقال عن منطقةٍ أنها تعاني من  الإجهاد المائي عندما ينخفض هذا المستوى عن 1700 متر مكعب للفرد في السنة، أو أنها تعاني ندرةً أو شُحّاً في المياه عندما ينخفض المستوى عن 1000 متر مكعب للفرد في السنة.

وثمّةَ مؤشرٌ آخر من المعهد الدولي لإدارة المياه (IWMI) يميز بين ندرة المياه المادية (المياه غير كافية لتلبية الاحتياجات الإنسانية والبيئية) و ندرة المياه الاقتصادية (ثمّةَ ما يكفي من المياه، ولكن البنية التحتية متدنية المستوى أو سوء الإدارة يمنع وصولها). وقد جرى استخدام كلّ من مؤشّر فالكنمارك وIWMI في أداة المياه الخاصة بالجمعية الدولية للحفاظ على البيئة في صناعة النفط والغاز. يرجى ملاحظة أن هذا المؤشر وغيره من مؤشرات الإجهاد المائي تستند جميعاً إلى مجموعة المصطلحات والتعاريف والبيانات التي لا تزال قيد التطوير، وتوفّر مقاربةً عموميةً فقط للحالات الفعلية في مكانٍ معيّن. 

إننا نتبع مصطلحات إكسون موبيل "آفاق الطاقة"في تصنيف صناعة النفط والغاز كصناعةٍ تنفصلُ عن توليد الطاقة الكهربائية. في حين أنهما يُصنَّفان أحياناً في نفس الخانة تحت اسم "صناعة الطاقة"، علماً أن صناعة توليد الطاقة وصناعة النفط والغاز تتميّزان باستخداماتٍ مختلفةٍ جداً للمياه في عملياتها.

إغلاق