Skip to main content
Search

Our climate science history

We unequivocally reject allegations that ExxonMobil suppressed climate change research contained in media reports that are inaccurate distortions of ExxonMobil’s nearly 40-year history of climate research.

We understand that climate risks are real. The company has continuously, publicly and openly researched and discussed the risks of climate change, carbon life cycle analysis and emissions reductions.

ExxonMobil’s four decades of research in climate science has resulted in nearly 150 publicly available papers, including more than 50 peer-reviewed publications, and nearly 300 patents for cutting-edge technological advances in emissions reductions and other related applications. Our scientists have been involved in the forefront of climate research, understanding and working with the world’s leading experts on climate.

We long have informed shareholders and investors on our perception of the business risks associated with climate change through regulatory filings, our annual Corporate Citizenship Report and in other reports to shareholders.

We are working hard on solutions to the challenge of meeting the world’s energy needs while reducing the environmental impact through support for research and development. Some recent examples include exploring transformational innovations in energy and the environment, development of climate modeling and lower-carbon energy research - all in conjunction with leading research universities.

We advocate for common sense approaches – substituting natural gas for coal in electrical generation, improving efficiency and using market forces to drive change -- while continuing to fund and participate in research into technology solutions and better understanding of the risks of climate change.

ExxonMobil is a responsible participant in the discussion on climate change – we will continue to research the issue, support energy efficiency, work to reduce emissions, pursue new technologies and advocate for effective policy approaches.

Read more of ExxonMobil's perspectives on climate.

Blogs:

Media documents:

Peer-reviewed publications:

Close

تخطى للمحتوى الأساسي
بحث

تاريخ علم المناخ لدينا

نرفض وبشكل قاطع المزاعم التي تتهم إكسون موبيل بإعاقة الأبحاث التي تُجرى على تغير المناخ والتي ترد في تقارير وسائل الإعلام التي تشوه تاريخ إكسون موبيل في مجال أبحاث المناخ لما يقرب من 40 عامًا.

نعي جيدًا بأن المخاطر المناخية حقيقة واقعية. لذا تقوم الشركة بإجراء أبحاث ومناقشات حول مخاطر تغيّر المناخ بشكل مستمر وعلني وصريح، إلى جانب تحليل دورة حياة الكربون وتقليل الانبعاثات.

وقد حققت الشركة على مدار أربعة عقود من البحث في علم المناخ ما يقرب من 150 ورقة بحثية متاحة للجمهور، بما في ذلك أكثر من 50 إصدارًا تمت مراجعتها بعناية، إضافة إلى ما يقرب من 300 براءة اختراع حول عمليات التقدم المتطورة في مجال تكنولوجيا تقليل الانبعاثات وغيرها من التطبيقات ذات الصلة. وقد شارك علماؤنا في صدارة عمليات الأبحاث حول المناخ، حيث قاموا بالعمل مع أبرز خبراء المناخ حول العالم.

لقد قمنا منذ فترة طويلة بإبلاغ المساهمين والمستثمرين بتصورنا حول مخاطر الأعمال المرتبطة بتغير المناخ من خلال ملفات مؤرشفة بشكل منتظم وتقرير المواطنة السنوي للشركة وفي تقارير أخرى خاصة بالمساهمين.

نعمل جاهدين على إيجاد حلول للتحدي المتمثل في تلبية احتياجات الطاقة حول العالم مع الحد من الأثر البيئي من خلال دعم البحث والتطوير. من بين بعض الأمثلة الحديثة استكشاف الابتكارات التحويلية في مجال الطاقة والبيئة، وتطوير نماذج المناخ وأبحاث الطاقة الخاصة بتقليل الكربون - كل هذا بالتعاون مع الجامعات الرائدة في مجال الأبحاث.

نؤيد نهج التفكير السليم حيث يتم إحلال الغاز الطبيعي محل الفحم في توليد الكهرباء وتحسين كفاءة قوى السوق والاستعانة بها لتوجيه التغيير مع الاستمرار في التمويل والمشاركة في مجال الأبحاث الخاصة بحلول التكنولوجيا وفهم أفضل لمخاطر تغير المناخ.


تُعد إكسون موبيل شريكًا مسؤولاً في مناقشة تغير المناخ - سنستمر في بحثنا حول المشكلة ودعم كفاءة استخدام الطاقة، والعمل على تقليل الانبعاثات ومتابعة التقنيات الجديدة والدعوة إلى تبني نهج السياسة الفعالة.

يمكنك الاطلاع على المزيد من وجهات نظر إكسون موبيل حول المناخ.

المدونات:

وثائق وسائل الإعلام:

منشورات خضعت لمراجعة النظراء:

إغلاق