Skip to main content
Search

Tri-party agreement to study Qatar’s dugong population

ExxonMobil Research Qatar (EMRQ), Qatar University (QU) and Texas A&M at Galveston signed a tri-party agreement in 2014, with support from the Private Engineering Office (PEO) and the Ministry of Environment, to further environmental research and marine mammal initiatives in order to address the issue of preservation of dugongs.

Dugongs are large, long-living herbivorous marine mammals found in Qatar’s coastal waters that consume sea grasses. They can reach lengths of greater than three meters, weigh more than 400 kilograms and live up to 70 years. Historically, dugongs have had a cultural and economic importance to Qataris, and have had a presence in the Arabian Gulf for more than 7,500 years. The Arabian Gulf is home to the largest population of dugongs outside of Australia with two of the three most important regions associated with Qatari waters.

EMRQ and the PEO have held field missions to locate live dugongs off the west coast of Qatar, as part of ongoing data collection efforts to better understand the distribution, abundance and behavior of the Qatar dugong population. The field missions have resulted in video and photographic documentation of the dugongs as they traveled and fed in the area. 

As mammals with a low reproductive output, dugongs are listed as Vulnerable to Extinction by the International Union for the Conservation of Nature. Currently, dugongs in Qatar face challenges including incidental fishing and habitat degradation. The extreme marine and physical environment of the Arabian Gulf, as well as the northern limit of dugong distribution, likely means that their life-history differs from populations in Australia.

Close

تخطى للمحتوى الأساسي
بحث

اتفاقية شراكة ثلاثية لدراسة تجمعات بقر البحر في قطر

وقّع كل من إكسون موبيل للأبحاث قطر وجامعة قطر وجامعة "تكساس إيه أند إم" في "جالفستون" اتفاقية شراكة  ثلاثية في العام 2014، بدعم من المكتب الهندسي الخاص ووزارة البيئة، لإجراء مزيد من البحوث البيئية والمبادرات البحرية الخاصة بالثدييات، بهدف التعاطي مع قضية الحفاظ على بقر البحر (الأطوم) في قطر.

ويعد بقر البحر من الثدييات البحرية الضخمة المعمرة، والتي تتغذّى على عشب البحر، وتتواجد قبالة الساحل القطري، ويصل طولها لأكثر من ثلاثة أمتار، وقد يزيد وزنها عن 400 كيلوغرام وتصل أعمارها إلى 70 عاماً. ولطالما كان لحيوان بقر البحر (الأطوم) على مدى التاريخ أهمية ثقافية واقتصادية لدى القطريين، ويتواجد في مياه الخليج العربي منذ أكثر من 7500 عاماً. وتحتضن قطر أكبر تجمّع لبقر البحر خارج استراليا، وتضم منطقتين من أهم ثلاث مناطق تعيش فيها هذه الحيوانات في الخليج العربي.

وأجرى مركز إكسون موبيل للأبحاث قطر والمكتب الهندسي الخاص مسحاً بحرياً ميدانياً لتحديد مواقع بقر البحر قبالة الساحل الغربي لدولة قطر، وذلك في إطار الجهود المتواصلة والرامية إلى جمع البيانات للتعرّف بشكل أفضل على توزيع ووفرة وسلوك بقر البحر في قطر. وقد أسفر المسح عن رصد بالفيديو والصور لحيوانات بقر البحر بينما كانت تتنقّل وتتغذّى في المنطقة.

ونظراً لكونها من الثدييات ذات المستوى المنخفض من التناسل، صُنّفت الأطوم ضمن الكائنات المهدّدة بالانقراض وفق الاتحاد الدولي للمحافظة على الطبيعة، وتتعرّض هذه الحيوانات في قطر لتهديدات تشمل الصيد العرضي وتدمير الموطن الطبيعي. وتؤشر البيئة البحرية وطبيعة الخليج العربي، وكذلك الحد الشمالي لتوزيع بقر البحر، إلى احتمالية أن يكون تاريخ حياة هذه الحيوانات يختلف عن تلك التي تعيش في أستراليا.

إغلاق